#PrideInsideAndOut: A Disposable Camera Series

Thinkingbox
5 min readJun 25, 2021

--

We celebrate our LGBTQ+ team members, family members, and friends not just during Pride Month, but always.

For Pride Month 2021 we created our #PrideInsideAndOut campaign so our Thinkingbox and AntiSocial family could show us exactly what Pride means to them. The campaign spanned the month of June where we captured the festivities via disposable cameras. Make sure to check out the full campaign on AntiSocial and Thinkingbox’s Instagram accounts.

Read on to see highlights from the series and learn what Pride means to the staff that took part.

Three Offices. Three Cameras. One Pride Month.

The disposable camera series aimed to capture all the colors of Pride across our offices. The campaign was geared away from digital and towards the nostalgia of capturing a moment so (im)perfectly with a disposable camera (ft. light leaks, grainy textures, overexposure, and all the good stuff!)

As some of us are returning to normal(ish) and some are still facing restrictions we asked our extending family to show us what Pride month looks like inside, outside, and everything else in between (spoiler: mostly pets).

Enjoy the collection!

Samantha Loren, Senior Media Producer

Pride is a celebration of who you are, who you love, and offers everyone an opportunity to express their most authentic selves. Regardless of if you identify as a member of the LGBTQ+ community or are an ally, Pride is a time for everyone to come together and celebrate the unique aspects of ourselves that make us, US!

We owe where we are today to the fearless folks who fought for equality, and to all those who continue their vital work. Pride is not only a celebration of the victories we have won, the barriers we have broken, and the strides we have made, but also inspires us to continue to work together to bring equality and love to all.

Elisha Zagerman, Talent Acquisition Manager

Pride means being unapologetically proud of who I am and what I stand for. I’m grateful for those who came before me and fought for the freedom and equality of the LGBTQ+ community. It is because of the bravery and relentlessness of prominent figures during the Stonewall uprising, such as Marsha P. Johnson, that I am now able to love without fear, and proudly hold my wife’s hand without worrying about the repercussions that existed and unfortunately continue to exist today.

Pride means continuing to advocate for others who still aren’t as privileged to do so and being the representation that will in turn help those struggling to live as their true selves. Pride is about reinforcing equal rights for ALL people. Ultimately, it is the fight for love.

Hugh Elliott, Senior Creative Technologist

Pride is what you need to have every day. To welcome everyone to be who they are meant to be. I wanted to illustrate that feeling. I constructed a light bar with the Pride flag colors on it and shot long exposure wherever I could. In a park, at a bar, on the street, at the beach.

When I moved to Toronto from Ottawa, at 20, I had very little interaction with the gay community. Once in Toronto, though, that changed quickly. Whether it was my manager at an art store, a customer at the shop I worked at, a friend coming out, I learned that acceptance and love are easier and more fulfilling than hate.

As one relationship crumbled, I moved into a one-bedroom apartment. Next door to two of the nicest men I had the pleasure to know. Both were in their fifties, closeted at work and it broke my heart to hear their stories of hiding. When they spoke of the younger people in the community being open and celebrating, they spoke about what it used to be like.

Laura Bell, Creative Copywriter

Pride for me is about joy. Everything about Pride is about love; of community, of partners, of yourself! Being queer means I’ll always have a team, a giant community made up of so many brave and wonderful people who advocate for me (and most of them I will never meet — but I’ll love them anyway).

I get to be out and proud and I owe that to the generations of LGBTQ+ people who fought for my right to exist before I was even born. Pride is still fighting so everyone can have that privilege.

Pride is joy and love and friends and parties and it’s the f***ing best.

Happy Pride!

It’s not a Pride celebration without an iconic playlist. Our friends at Thinkingbox and AntiSocial collaborated to put together the ULTIMATE Pride playlist, to help you celebrate #PrideInsideAndOut.

--

--

Thinkingbox

Thinkingbox is an experience agency shaping the future of brands through craft and curiosity.